Happy Birthday, Royce!

Dear Royce:

Your spring tree looks marvelous! I was looking at flowers at the dollar store the other day, for the same reason. Yes, I left my Christmas tree up, which must be called the seasonal tree. (Or maybe a big indoor house plant?) It is easier than packing it away and finding some place to store it. I did decorate for Icicle Season and now it’s decorated for Valentine’s, which needs to change fast, as it is March 1.

DSCN2943Speaking of March 1, it’s your birthday!

Happy birthday to you.
Happy birthday to you.
Happy birthday, Dear Royce,
Happy birthday to you!

I know you wanted Spring for your birthday. It must be in short supply, so although I went out shopping for some to send you, the shelf was completely bare and dusty at all stores. They do, however, have plenty of Spring-like accoutrements—shorts, swimsuits, sandals, and beach towels. If one needed winter gloves or boots or a snow shovel, one would be hard-pressed to find any of that.

This week has been another bitter cold one. Yesterday was the coldest day of the week, with air temperatures and wind chills dipping well down into the double digits around these parts. This morning, it’s 33 degrees warmer than it was 24 hours ago—and feels so much warmer one could run around without hat, gloves, or scarf. Imagine feeling warmer at 22 degrees? It’s lightly snowing. We are supposed to get 2-5 inches by tomorrow morning.

Progress on my Ravellenic 2014 cardigan slowed down considerably after the end of the Olympics. I still had about 1/2 of the yoke to knit. Last night I worked on it the most I have since last weekend. Then I realized I hated how the decreases were effecting the patterning, so I ripped back about 8 rows, so I’m about 10 rows from getting to the collar. I want to get this done today so I can move on. I think I will finish a WIP and start a pair of socks.

  1. What are you working on these days?
  2. What do you think of Season 4 of Downton Abbey? Spoiler warning here.
  3. Do you think Bates did it?

 

In pictures, Reese is much lighter than she was as a younger puppy. She doesn’t mind the cold because she is a puppy. Kids!

What sad news about our friends in Missouri. I’m sorry they lost their Golden Retriever, Abby. It seems like only yesterday they got her as a puppy dog.

I hope you have great plans for your birthday celebration today. I assume LJ will take you out for supper.

Have a great day! And Cheers!

~Snow

About snowandroyce

Snow and Royce are friends. For a long time, Snow lived in a Southern state quite near Royce. Then Snow moved back home to the Northern land of her birth. They decided to start blogging just to keep in touch because email, Facebook, and other forms of digital communication just aren't quite enough. Royce has a dog named Joe. She likes miniatures, knitting, her grandchildren, vodka, and gadgets in no particular order. Snow likes knitting, miniatures, and would like to be a voracious reader, if only she could stay awake.
This entry was posted in Downton Abbey, TV and Movies, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

