Saturday Road Trip and Joe

Dear Royce:

I took a short hop to the county seat today to (finally!) visit the Yarn Garden in Charlotte (pronounced Shar-lot). It’s right downtown across from the county courthouse in an old 2-story building. It’s small but not too crowded and wonderfully nice. Picture high doorways encased in thick oak trim, exposed brick walls, and ancient wood floors. The owner is clearly a Noro fan but also carries Cascade and some Berroco. The shop samples are gorgeous and perfectly knitted. The owner, who shares a name with me, is also a designer. Several shops in the region were hosting a shop hop, so she had sales on Noro and other things. I did manage to reduce her inventory very slightly. This may be my new LYS. Too bad it’s 17 miles away! (Or maybe that’s good?)

Autumn is definitely nearly upon us. The weather has been frequently changeable, ever-changing temperatures, darkly cloudy at the same time the sun is blasting a whole in the clouds. Some growing things are drying up and turning brown, while there is a hint of yellow everywhere. Even a few bits of reds and oranges beginning to show. The corn and soybeans are drying down. It won’t be long before we’re in full fall-color season.

On the mission out into the county today, I saw a lot of bikers and a very large 4-wheeled banana. I wish I had gotten a much better and longer look at that banana. It appeared to have 2 or 3 occupants sitting in row in a cockpit, much like an old airplane. It was definitely flying, but on 4 wheels. I think bikers are out for probably one of the last rides of the season. On my way home I met more than 100 in a large group heading southward down I-69. I think they were all together.

I know you’re missing Joe. He was a wonderful little dog with a charming personality. I was looking through my photos and found one from 2009 and a more recent picture from 2012. He did like to nap in my big old chair, especially if the sun was shining on it from the skylight window. I’m sure you and L are missing him so very keenly.

Joe

 

DSCN0554

 

Here’s to Joe. He will live long in your heart and memories.

Hugs,

~Snow

About snowandroyce

Snow and Royce are friends. For a long time, Snow lived in a Southern state quite near Royce. Then Snow moved back home to the Northern land of her birth. They decided to start blogging just to keep in touch because email, Facebook, and other forms of digital communication just aren't quite enough. Royce has a dog named Joe. She likes miniatures, knitting, her grandchildren, vodka, and gadgets in no particular order. Snow likes knitting, miniatures, and would like to be a voracious reader, if only she could stay awake.
This entry was posted in Joe, Knitting, Weather and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Road Trip and Joe

  1. Nic says:

    My little girls went NUTSO for the pictures of Joe. I can see that he was a great little personality – and sooo handsome πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

