Vacation Postcards

Dear Royce:

I realized it has been some time since I wrote. Worse, I didn’t realize you had written….way back on July 4! I am so sorry for neglecting our correspondence. I was a away for a few days over the July 4th weekend and time has just slipped away since then. Here finally are my postcards from my mini vacation.

I went to a parade. Actually I arrived a wee late, just after the parade started. I had to “attend” the parade unless I wanted to drive 50 miles out of my way to get around it. I even became part of the parade at the end. 🙂 This is Comins, MI, population of: Everyone you can see in the picture.

IF

 

I went “to the lake.”

IF

Okay, there are actually two lakes, connected by a short channel. This is the bigger lake. It has an island. The best way to get there is by boat.

IF

[We have more than two lakes in this state, but I didn’t get pictures of all of them.]

I went to the fireworks. 

tn_Fireworks

There was a trip to the ER following a tubing accident. (Everyone is okay.)

IF

 

 

I enjoyed the release of numerous sky lanterns (hot air balloons) over the lake from the boat. These are made of tissue paper, string, a little metal hoop, and some gel stuff that you light on fire. Tissue paper and fire. A recipe for disaster. Turns out it actually works, and no one was harmed. They were beautiful. The postcard is lousy.
IF

There was boating. There was swimming. There was a jig-saw puzzle. There was good food and a few margaritas. There was no Internet. My cell phone worked (barely) when I went into town 17 miles away. It was nice to get away.

Wish you were there!

Hugs,

Snow

About snowandroyce

Snow and Royce are friends. For a long time, Snow lived in a Southern state quite near Royce. Then Snow moved back home to the Northern land of her birth. They decided to start blogging just to keep in touch because email, Facebook, and other forms of digital communication just aren't quite enough. Royce has a dog named Joe. She likes miniatures, knitting, her grandchildren, vodka, and gadgets in no particular order. Snow likes knitting, miniatures, and would like to be a voracious reader, if only she could stay awake.
This entry was posted in Cooking/Eating, Drink and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

