Mystery Summer KAL Update

Dear Royce and Dedicated Reader*:

*I like that, so I think we should make that customary. I hope Dedicated Reader keeps on reading.

I finished the first section of the Mystery Shawl. It’s very red. I can’t photograph reds. My red photography always shows some hideously wrong color of red or it glows like it’s radioactive. I can’t wait for the next installment. Do you want to stay up until midnight and see if Wendy sends it through?

Snow's Mystery Summer

I do like your yarn choice. I think you have evolved as far as color choices. Much of our knitting enjoyment is about the process and less about the end result. Having something colorful in your hands and watching the visual color progression is more interesting and appealing. Knitting 10 miles of gray or beige garter stitch is not at all interesting or appealing.

Moving a piece of highlighter tape is totally different than moving a magnet. Just don’t drop your magnet.

Gas is still at $4.30 here and no sign of getting cheaper. It leaped up 14-15 cents a gallon the other day. It is due to refineries being shut down on the Gulf of Mexico because of bad weather about 10 days ago, causing a strain on supply from Illinois refineries. I didn’t know Illinois was on the Gulf coast. Fortunately, I don’t drive very much or very far.

I’m glad the weather is cooperating for you, and the garden is producing so well! It’s nice to have the problem of too much produce! I decided to skip planting tomatoes. I can hop down the road and pick up local produce any ‘ole time. 😉 I am growing petunias and sweet potato vines. I hope we get some slightly warmer weather eventually this summer. I’m not really complaining—I haven’t yet had to turn on the air conditioning and for the most part, the furnace hasn’t had to run either. Ka-Ching!

That chair has about a zillion nail heads all the way around it. It will be a chore just shucking the old red leather from the seat and back. The seat padding has turned to lumpy dusty stuff. The frame is solid and has a lot of “patina.” It came from the old Michigan State Police post on the MSU campus. It’s probably been there since the building was erected in the 60s. I don’t think the chair was stolen. I hope. (If you’re reading this, Mr. Snoopy NSA, my sister’s neighbor stole the chair!)

Have fun at knitting tonight and say hello to all my friends!

~Snow

About snowandroyce

Snow and Royce are friends. For a long time, Snow lived in a Southern state quite near Royce. Then Snow moved back home to the Northern land of her birth. They decided to start blogging just to keep in touch because email, Facebook, and other forms of digital communication just aren't quite enough. Royce has a dog named Joe. She likes miniatures, knitting, her grandchildren, vodka, and gadgets in no particular order. Snow likes knitting, miniatures, and would like to be a voracious reader, if only she could stay awake.
This entry was posted in KAL, Knitting, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

