Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Dear Royce:

I made this Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken tonight. I think it was delicious! I did make some changes, partly due to need, partly because I thought it made sense.

  • I had no thyme, so that was left out.

  • I cut way back on the amount of garlic I used for the final step.

  • I changed the final step—the sauce step. I removed the cooked chicken from the pan, added lime juice and a little garlic to the pan drippings, as well as some chopped green onion I had, and stirred until the sauce was almost gravy-like. 

I cooked the chicken covered. The chicken was quite moist and I had plenty of pan drippings to make the sauce. I ate it along side a big green salad. I sliced up the remaining chicken to add to salad or stir fry or whatever.

I think this would be nice with a side of rice, couscous, or boiled new potatoes.

I think it would be nice to roll leftover slices into a warm tortilla with lettuce, some salsa, and a bit of sour cream, or maybe a touch of Ranch-type creamy dressing?

 

_____________________________________

I haven’t had a drop of diet cola in 9 days now. I don’t even miss it and haven’t had a craving. There is a container of the stuff in my fridge, but I haven’t even been tempted to touch it. I think this is because I immediately substituted iced tea. On the other hand, the better part of a fresh box of Cold Brew is missing….

_____________________________________

Your garden looks great! I’m glad you’re able to enjoy the harvest already. I can’t wait until the local asparagus crop starts showing up here. It’s May, so it’s time for it. I’ve read that they may have issues getting it picked because workers are in short supply.

We’ve had several nice days now—even hitting into the low 80s, which is rather too soon for my taste. It’s been windy, too. Good for flying kites and sailing. It’s been nice to have the windows open the last couple days.

Hugs, Snow

 

 

 

About snowandroyce

Snow and Royce are friends. For a long time, Snow lived in a Southern state quite near Royce. Then Snow moved back home to the Northern land of her birth. They decided to start blogging just to keep in touch because email, Facebook, and other forms of digital communication just aren't quite enough. Royce has a dog named Joe. She likes miniatures, knitting, her grandchildren, vodka, and gadgets in no particular order. Snow likes knitting, miniatures, and would like to be a voracious reader, if only she could stay awake.
This entry was posted in Cooking/Eating, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

